News articles - 2021

EU Settlement Scheme

Date: 22 April 2021

In January, the UK officially left the European Union (EU). If you’re an EU citizen and you’ve chosen to make the UK your home, you’ll need to apply to the EU Settlement Scheme.


What is the EU Settlement Scheme?

The scheme is a process that every EU citizen living in the UK needs to go through to gain something called ‘indefinite leave to remain’. This means that you can stay in the UK for as long as you like.


When do applications need to be submitted by?

The closing dates for applications is 30 June 2021.


If you don’t make your application in time, there is a chance that your social security benefits, social housing, and social care services among other things could be lost.


Which countries are affected?

Citizens from the following countries will need to submit an application if they don’t currently have indefinite leave to remain:


Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.


Am I eligible to apply?

If you have lived here for more than 5 years, you may qualify for settled status. You can find more information on how to apply here.


How can I get help with my application?

If you need some advice and assistance, the government has provided funding to several independent organisations that can help you with your application. You can find a list of these organisations here.


If English is not your first language, there’s a range of information in other languages here.

More news